Oh, joy, another awards show … our excitement, we can't contain it …

There's no shortage of opinions circulating around this time about the validity of awards shows and whether or not they mean shit anywhere outside of industry blowhards. Quick answer: no, they don't mean anything — but people hate-love them all the same. Being given a shiny thing in exchange for someone giving the world art is a timeless tradition — a convention electronic music will now be a part of come April.

Dubbed the Electronic Music Awards and Foundation, the first of its kind awards show will be held at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles on Apr 14, with an hour-long special broadcast to follow on FOX, Sat, Apr 23.

Co-founded by legendary trance-icon Paul Oakenfold (along with TV4 Entertainment), the organization seems to have its ducks in a row in relation to respectable firepower backing the event. Seeing as how the electronic and EDM culture is one of the biggest movements in music since hip-hop in the '90s, it makes sense it would want to validate artists with its own awards, instead of relying on a Grammy committee that's more interested in giving people like Justin Bieber airtime and watching Diplo and Skrillex hug each other while ignoring everyone else. Which is … wack!

This year's categories and nominees are:

Single of the Year

Calvin Harris & Disciples – How Deep is Your Love
The Chainsmokers – Roses (feat. ROZES)
Galantis – Runaway (U & I)
Kygo – Stole the Show (feat. Parson James)
Major Lazer & DJ Snake – Lean On (feat. MØ)

Album of the Year 

Alina Baraz & Galimatias – Urban Flora
Calvin Harris – Motion
Disclosure – Caracal
Galantis – Pharmacy
Jamie xx – In Colour

Radio Show of the Year

BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix
BPM with Geronimo – Sirius XM
Danny Howard – BBC Radio 1’s Dance Anthems
Diplo and Friends – BBC Radio 1Xtra
Jason Bentley – Morning Becomes Eclectic – KCRW

Festival of the Year

Creamfields – Daresbury, England
Electric Daisy Carnival – Las Vegas, USA
Sonar – Barcelona, Spain
The BPM Festival – Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Ultra Music Festival – Miami, USA

DJ of the Year

Carl Cox
DJ Harvey

Best New Artist

Bob Moses
DJ Snake

Best Club of the Year

Sound LA